About the Screen Music Awards
2021 Screen Music Awards

The annual Screen Music Awards are presented by APRA AMCOS in conjunction with the Australian Guild of Screen Composers (AGSC). The ceremony acknowledges excellence and innovation in the field of screen composition.  The Screen Music Awards have been held 25 years, since the first event in 1996 held by the AGSC celebrating Australian screen composers and the music they created for films, television shows and advertising.

The Screen Awards honour music composers across thirteen categories. APRA AMCOS uses statistical analysis to define nominations based on performance activity, as reflected by earnings, for two categories: Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia, and Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas. Panels of highly respected Australian film and television composers determine four nominees across each of the remaining ten categories. The Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award is given at the discretion of the APRA Board of Directors.

The winners of the 2021 Screen Music Awards were announced on 22 February 2022 by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC (Australian Guild of Screen Composers) with dual winner Joff Bush (and AGSC member) leading the results for his musical magic on the children’s television global sensation Bluey. Other AGSC members who have won an award include Caitlin Yeo, Adam Moses, Cezary Skubiszewski, Roger Mason, Antony Partos, David McCormack, Helena Czajka and Adam Gock. We congratulate all the winners across all award categories and salute all the composers who were nominated in each award category.

The 2022 Screen Music Awards will be held at the end of 2022, with a date to be announced.

2021 Screen Music Awards Media Release
2021 Screen Music Awards Nominations by Award Category
Best Music in a Short Film
Best Music in Documentary
Best Music in an Advertisement
Best Music in a Mini Series or Telemovie
Best Music in an Television Series or Serial
Best Original Song Composed for the Screen
Best Music for Children’s Programming
Best Soundtrack Album
Feature Film Score of the Year
Best Television Theme
Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia
Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas